Adopt A Gluten-Free Blogger: Real Sustenance

photo-7

In an effort to be more, I dunno, engaged in the blogosphere, I signed up for Adopt A Gluten Free Blogger hosted by Sea at Book of Yum.  I chose Brittany Angell’s Real Sustenance, which has a boat load of lovely gluten-free and grain-free recipes because I have been lurking around her site.  A lot.

One of my kids has poor blood sugar control and one of his doctors recommended frequent snacks with fat and protein.  There are just so many slices of salami and packs of almonds or cashews he’s willing to eat…so when I saw that Brittany had directions for making these treats sugar free, I jumped.

(Minor quibble…I wish she didn’t have blue frosted donuts on her header…my kid wanted those and I have a zero tolerance policy on food coloring.  OMG, the whining that followed my pathetic attempts at distraction…)

So, I have a couple of other restrictions I have to accomodate–like serious nut allergies so I can’t have goodies made with almond flour or sunflower seeds in the house–and Brittany offered alternatives.  I LOVE me some options!

photo-2

I made some pumpkin seed flour by running a couple small packages of raw pepitas through my Vitamix. (I also find it at Trader Joe’s) Two good things about pumpkin seeds:  They are low oxalate and anti-parasitic.  They are also green.  Like, really green.

photo-1

I had exactly 4 cups of pumpkin seed flour–exactly enough to to make 2 batches of cookies! Cookies with low sugar, high protein, fiber, and good fats!  Winning!

I chose Maple Bacon Chocolate Chunk Cookies and Best Ever Double Chocolate Chunk Cookies. My substitutions are: 1) I used pumpkin seed flour  2) I used a 50:50 mix of xylitol and Trader Joe’s Turbinado Raw Can Sugar  3) I used agave instead of maple syrup since none of my kids like maple.  Silly boys.

photo-5

The double chocolate chunk cookies were a hit, but I got no takers on my green cookies with bacon.  Apparently, they are not green enough. I tried one and the bacon just didn’t go with the pumpkin seed flour.  Dang.  It had such promise.  I will persevere and try some more of Brittany’s recipes with my green pepita flour.  I’m also going to try some of her savory bits and bites.

photo-6

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

